Colwall nestles on the lower Western slopes of the Malvern Hills and is equidistant (about 4 miles) from both Malvern and Ledbury. The name originally meant the place with the cool well, and the numerous wells in the area are world famous. The church is some distance from the main village, but at the time that it was built there would have been scarce households, and possibly most of them were in the vicinity of the church. In the 1860s the railway arrived (Colwall still has a station today, and although it is tiny with a very short platform, the main Hereford to Paddington train stops here several times a day) and houses began to spring up around the station. Evendine is a small hamlet within the boundaries of Colwall, and boasts extensive limestone quarries – genealogists may find their ancestors working in these quarries, although there was of course extensive farming in the area. Herefordshire is after all a rather large field with a few towns and villages scattered around!
In 1926 Mrs Scott-Bowden who owned the Colwall Park Hotel at the time, organised a women’s cricket festival, which was the foundation of the National Women’s Cricket Association.